Dadasaheb Phalke Award winners: 1969-2022

The Dadasaheb Phalke Award is the highest honor given to the cinema field in India. The Directorate of Film Festivals, a unit established by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, presents it each year during the National Film Awards ceremony. The honoree is chosen by a committee made up of prominent figures from the Indian film industry for their “great contribution to the growth and development of Indian cinema.” The prize consists of a Swarna Kamal (Golden Lotus) medallion, a shawl, and $13,000 in cash.

The award, which was first given out in 1969, was created by the Indian government to honor Dadasaheb Phalke’s contribution to Indian cinema. Raja Harishchandra, India’s first feature-length motion picture, was directed by Phalke (1870–1944), a famous Indian filmmaker who is frequently referred to as “the founder of Indian cinema.

Actress Devika Rani, who was honored at the 17th National Film Awards, was the first recipient of the prize. 51 recipients have received awards as of 2022. The only posthumous winners among them are actors Vinod Khanna (2017) and Prithviraj Kapoor (1971).  Raj Kapoor, an actor, and filmmaker collected the prize on his father’s behalf at the 19th National Film Awards in 1971 and later received one himself at the 35th National Film Awards event in 1987.

Here we are sharing the list of Dadasaheb Phalke Award Winner list


Devika Rani1969Actress
Birendranath Sircar1970Producer
Prithviraj Kapoor1971Actor
Pankaj Mullick1972Composer (Music Director)
Ruby Myers1973Actress
Bommireddy Narasimha Reddy1974Director
Dhirendra Nath Ganguly1975Actor and Director
Kanan Devi1976Actress
Nitin Bose1977Cinematographer, Director and Writer,
Raichand Boral1978Composer and Director
Sohrab Modi1979Actor, Director and Producer
Paidi Jairaj1980Actor and Director
Naushad1981Composer (Music Director)
L. V. Prasad1982Actor, Director and Producer
Durga Khote1983Actress
Satyajit Ray1984Director
V. Shantaram1985Actor, Director and Producer
B. Nagi Reddy1986Producer
Raj Kapoor1987Actor and Director
Ashok Kumar1988Actor
Lata Mangeshkar1989Singer
Akkineni Nageswara Rao1990Actor
Bhalji Pendharkar1991Director, Producer and Writer
Bhupen Hazarika1992Composer (Music Director)
Majrooh Sultanpuri1993Lyricist
Dilip Kumar1994Actor
Sivaji Ganesan1996Actor
Kavi Pradeep1997Lyricist
B. R. Chopra1998Director and Producer
Hrishikesh Mukherjee1999Director
Asha Bhosle2000Singer
Yash Chopra2001Director and Producer
Dev Anand2002Actor, Director and Producer
Mrinal Sen2003Director
Adoor Gopalakrishnan2004Director
Shyam Benegal2005Director
Tapan Sinha2006Director
Manna Dey2007Singer
V. K. Murthy2008Cinematographer
D. Ramanaidu2009Producer
K. Balachander2010Director
Soumitra Chatterjee2011Actor
Gulzar2013Poet, Lyricist and Director
Shashi Kapoor2014Actor, Director and Producer
Manoj Kumar2015Actor and Director
Kasinathuni Viswanath2016Director
Vinod Khanna2017Actor
Amitabh Bachchan2018Actor